JOMFRUENS EGEDE MANOR
Jomfruens Egede is beautifully situated in the southern part of Zealand, not far from the Danish city Faxe. The manor house's main building is today protected and many of the architect-designed J. C. Lillie furniture and mirrors are still part of the interior design. The decorations is some of the most unique that exists and the National Museum states in: "It is probably one of the main works if inot the most prominent in Danish Interior Art from the late 1700s".
In addition to the beautifully newly renovated halls, salons and rooms in the main building, the decor is a harmonious mix of new and old, with now several of the former breeding buildings utilized as scenes of celebrations and conference rooms with associated very well-restored accomendaton rooms.
Jomfruens Egede is now privately owned and professionally run by a well-trained, service-minded staff with a focus on quality and unique experiences and events. Behind the scene stands Mette Steen as devoted director and Joachim Greve Moltke as a committed co-owner.
The New Egede, restored 2018.
The story of ‘Egede"‘ can be traced back to 1346, when the estate was owned by one of Valdemar Atterdag's faithful squires. In 1542, the two noble maidens Birgitte and Ermegaard Bille inherited the estate from their father and renamed it “Jomfruernes Egede”.
While the manor and the church survived the Swedish wars, the surrounding village did not. In 1658 it was burned down by the Swedes, after which the village grounds were placed as part of the estate.
A love drama in 1661 linked the Jomfruens Egede and Lystrup together. The 16-year-old Sidsel Kaas inherited Jomfruen’s Egede after his father. At that time she was betrothed to Peder Grubbe at Lystrup. The king's chieftain, Vincent von Hahn from the nearby estate Sparresholm, fell in love with the young girl, and behind her back he succeed to get the king's permission to marry. Von Hahn even forbade the priest to mary the maiden to Peder Grubbe. The drama ended with von Hahn challenging Peder Grubbe. Four of Von Hahn's men beat Peder Grubbe unconscious and drove him home to Lystrup. Von Hahn married Sidsel Kaas and with her also the estate of Jomfruens Egede.
In 1674 Christian the 5th’s mistress Sophie Amalie Moth, Countess of Samsøe, bought Jomfruens Egede, where she lived until his death in 1719. At the end of the 18th century the main manor building was rebuilt and there was an extension with a new south wing and the main building hence the appearance it has today.
Architect Harsdorff and J.C. Lillie was in charge of the restoration and rebuilt. They were given the freedom was given to the best architects, artists and craftsmen of the period to combine architectural and artistic remodeling, decoration and furnishing.
The Moltke family took over Jomfruens Egede in 1831 and the young Joachim Count Moltke is now the sixth generation of the Moltke family tree at Jomfruens Egede.
ØSTER EGEDE CHURCH
In close proximity to Jomfruens Egede lies the very beautiful Øster Egede Church with only a few leaps from the church door to the manor of Jomfruens Egede.
The church is a white-washed brick building, which is very unusual in reference to architectual history. It consists of a Romanesque tower building, which connects to a church main building from 1608, which cuts into a gothic masonry in the east wall, which dates from 1579. The interior is magnificent; the pulpit is richly decorated, the altarpiece fascinating and the ceiling vaulting curves over the beautiful chairs.
By appointment the Øster Egede Church can be the place for your wedding ceremony with the wedding festivities being held at Jomfruens Egede Manor.
MYTHS & GHOSTS
Founded in 1346, Jomfruens Egede has been part of Denmark's history since the Middle Ages. The myths and ghosts described in the following paragraphs we’ll be happy to tell you about in detail during your stay with us.
Ghosts & Ghosts:
The bailiff's black dog watched the murder of his master and now walks the halss. At regular intervals, it sneaks around in the magazine flume.
The white lady is seen floating through the halls of the main building. She is very friendly, opens doors and welcomes in this way, once again disappears through the thick walls of the house.
The myths have arisen over many centuries and the present owners and guests have, fortunately, never been bothered by the ghosts and the returnees.
At Jomfruens Egede we offer a unique historical and unconventional setting and stage for varius types of events in the manor's historic living quarters, the old forge, the stoic guest rooms and plenty of space in the surrounding forest, fields and gardens to kick off all sorts of outdoor activities.
THE DINNING HALL
Long tables | 48 guests
Round tables | 48 guests
Theater setup | 60 guests
THE GARDEN ROOM
Long tables | 48 guests
Round tables | 48 guests
Theater setup | 50 guests
THE OLD FORGE
Long tables | 120 guests
Round tables | 90 guests
THE HUNTING LODGE
Guest rooms | 21 rooms
”Sleep-over” guests | max. 46 guests
The historic rooms at Egede are all with modern comforts and simple yet stilish furnishings.
Many with wonderful architectural details and all with new, comfortable beds.
The bathrooms are refurbished, contemporary and fully functional.
The maiden's Egede has single rooms / double rooms spread over a total of 46 beds.